Hocalwire NewsRoom
Big Story

karnatka election

this is the news about the karnatka elections....

karnatka election

The long-awaited results of the Karnataka general assembly elections 2023 are in, and the I

has emerged as the clear winner with a convincing victory, securing 135 seats and an overall vote share of 42.9%.

The INC emerged victorious, securing an impressive 55-seat gain from its previous tally of 80 seats in the 2018 elections. However, it was a different story for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which suffered a massive setback, losing 38 seats from its previous count of 104. The biggest change, though, was the dismal performance of the Janata Dal (Secular), which lost almost 50% of its seats from the 2018 elections. The JD(S) had won 37 seats in the previous election of 2018, but this time, it managed to secure only 19 seats.

While the BJP managed to maintain its vote share of 36% from the previous Vidhan Sabha election of 2018, the INC made significant gains by capturing an additional 4.8% of the vote share. Unfortunately, it was bad news for the JD(S), which lost a whopping 5% of its vote share. Interestingly, it seems like the INC may have managed to absorb a significant number of JD(S) votes. We’ll dive deeper into this phenomenon as we explore the various political divisions.

Independent candidates managed to capture a respectable 5.2% of the vote share and secure 2 seats in the Vidhan Sabha. Less than 12 hours after the election results were announced, one of the independently elected MLAs, Latha Mallikarjun from AC-104 Harapanahalli, announced her unconditional support for the INC.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Next Story
Share it